WIABE is proud to announce the
2017 Student Writing Contest Winners: 


  1. Winner for the Elementary Category: Yareni Cruz, 4th grade, S.C. Johnson Elementary School, Racine Unified School District
  2. Winner for the Middle School Category: Bianey Calixto-Dominguez, 8th grade, La Causa Charter School, MPS
  3. Winner for the High School Category: Zing Tha, 9th Grade, South Division High School, MPS
All winners were recognized during the 2017 WIABE conference on Saturday, April 20, 2017

WIABE is proud to announce the 2016 WIABE Student Writing Contest Winners! Winners will receive their award and prize during the 2016 WIABE conference. 
  • Elementary School Category: Maria Vargas, 3rd Grade, Greenland Elementary School- Oconomowoc School District
  • Middle School Category: Jimena Santacruz, 6th Grade, Wedgewood International Park, Milwaukee Public Schools
  • High School Category: Paola Virella, South Division High School, Milwaukee Public Schools

Click Here to Read the Student’s Essays

2016 Winners: Maria Vargas, Jimena Santacruz, and Paola Virella